BristolCon gen_banner

Juliet E. McKenna

Juliet E McKennaJuliet E McKenna has been fascinated by fantasy, myth and history since she first learned to read. After studying Greek and Roman history and literature at St Hilda’s College, Oxford, she worked in personnel management, continuing to read SF, fantasy, crime and historical novels, thrillers and literary fiction and anything else that looked interesting. After a career change to combine motherhood and book-selling, her debut novel, The Thief’s Gamble, was published in 1999. This was the first of The Tales of Einarinn, translated into more than a dozen languages. That five book series was followed by The Aldabreshin Compass sequence, beginning with Southern Fire. Her third series, The Chronicles of the Lescari Revolution trilogy, explores divided states, personal conflict and the rights and responsibilities of
power, starting with Irons in the Fire.

She’s also the author of some highly diverse shorter fiction, published in UK and US anthologies and magazines and including tie-in stories for Doctor Who, Torchwood and Warhammer 40K. Juliet works from time to time as a creative writing tutor as well as reviewing books for print and online magazines. A contributing editor to Albedo One, she keeps a keen eye on book trade issues. She also works with eight other fantasy authors, promoting the breadth and depth of the whole speculative fiction genre through The Write Fantastic initiative.

Living in Oxfordshire with her teenage sons and husband, she fits in her writing around her family and vice versa. She’s currently working on her fourth fantasy series, The Hadrumal Crisis, to be published by Solaris in the UK and the US from 2011, beginning with Dangerous Waters.

Juliet E McKenna

No Comments

0 responses so far ↓

  • There are no comments yet...

Leave a Comment